News 2012 Brazilian 420 National Championships

  • Photos

2012 Brazilian 420 National Championships

Feb 2012

Seventeen Brazilian teams put their boats in the water at São Paulo to compete at the 2012 420 National Championship. The weather was generally cool, with stronger winds in the opening races, and lighter winds for the last few days with 12 races completing the series.

This news belongs to
2012 Brazilian 420 National Championships
Tough to the End as Ricardinho and Bubby come out on top


Daniel Lombardi/Gabriel Sequeira claimed the Championship lead early on, but it swapped around, before the pair went into the final day 5 points ahead of Ricardo Paranhos/Patrick Essle. But a turn of form gave Paranhos/Essle the advantage and the Championship title on the last day; which was delivered to “Ricardinho” and “Bubby” (as the two are better known) after a really tough battle in the final race.

A stunning result for Isabele Caldeira/Julia Pessini who were third overall and claimed the Women’s 420 National Championship.

The Annual Meeting of the National 420 Class Association took place during the Championship annual meeting some important topics were discussed. After several years as President, Andreia Sá gave place to Renato Brito, while Gabriel Tolentino replaced Nicolas Castro as Secretary. Porto Alegre was chosen to host the 2013 420 National Championships and the 2012 South American Championships. The intention is to hold both of these events during the last week of December and first week of January, with a break in between to celebrate New Year. 420 sailors from all over the world are invited to join us.

Other Info ...
• Final Results

Top Image: Luisa Prado/Luiza Peiter (BRA) round the mark ahead of ultimate Championship team of Ricardo Paranhos/Patrick Essle (BRA). Middle Image: Podium teams. Bottom Image: Competing teams © Fred Hoffman